Department of Physics:

The Department of Physics, Synod College was established in the year 1987 and only the pre university science course was started initially. It was only in 1991 that the B.Sc (Pass) course was started followed by the B.Sc (Hons) course in 1998.

The Faculty members of the department are:

  1. Smti. V.G. Shylla who joined the department in 1988 and was the head of the department from 1988 up to 2016.
  2. (L) Smti. S. M. Khongwir joined the department in 1990 and served the department till her untimely death in 2006.
  3. Dr. M. Rani joined the department in 1993.In 2005 he was appointed Co-ordinator of IQAC of the college and became the head of the department in 2016. In 2020, he was appointed as Vice Principal of the college.
  4. Smti. G. A. Kharsyntiew joined the department in 1994 and was appointed head of the department in July, 2020.
  5. Shri. D. G. L. Khongwir joined the department in the year 2005.
  6. Shri. M. D. Wanswett joined in the year 2006.
  7. Shri. G.S. Kharkongor joined the department in 2018.
  8. Shri . W.K. Bani joined the department in 2020 as a guest lecturer.

ACADEMIC PROFILE OF THE TEACHER’S (updated for the year 2019 – 2020)

  1. Name: V. G. Shylla
    Designation: Associate Professor
    Qualifications: M.Sc., M. Phil
    Area of Specialisation: Nuclear Spectroscopy
    Teaching Experience: 22 years
    Publication: NIL
  2. Name: M. Rani
    Designation: Associate Professor & Vice Principal of the College
    Qualifications: M.Sc., PhD
    Area of Specialisation: High Energy Physics
    Teaching Experience: 27 Years
    Publications: NIL
  3. Name: G.A. Kharsyntiew [HOD]
    Designation: Associate Professor
    Qualifications: M.Sc., M.Phil.
    Area of Specialisation: High Energy Physics
    Teaching Experience: 25 Years
    Publications: NIL
  4. Name: Shri. M.D.Wanswett
    Designation: Assistant Professor
    Qualifications: M.Sc.
    Area of Specialisation:Solid State Physics
    Teaching Experience: 14 Years
    Publications: NIL
  5. Name: Shri. D.G.L. Khongwir
    Designation: Assistant Professor
    Qualifications: M.Sc.
    Area of Specialisation: Experimental Nuclear Physics
    Teaching Experience: 15 Years
    Publications: NIL
  6. Name: Shri. G S. Kharkongor
    Designation: Guest Lecturer
    Qualification: M.Sc.
    Area of Specialisation: High Energy Physics
    Teaching Experience: 3 Years
    Publications: NIL
  7. Name: Shri. W K. Bani
    Designation: Guest Lecturer
    Qualifications: M.Sc. PhD (Thesis Submitted)
    Area of Specialisation: Condensed Matter Physics – Fluid Mechanics
    Teaching Experience: 3 Months

    1. W.K. Bani and M.C. Mahato, AIP Conf. Proc. 1832, 060008 (2017).
    2. W.K. Bani and M.C. Mahato, in Recent Advances in Physics Research and its Relevance, ed. S. Chutia and S Saikia, pp. 264, (Excel India publishers, New Delhi, (2017).
    3. W.K. Bani and M.C. Mahato, An experimental study of recoil capillary waves and breakup of vertically flowing down water jets, Pramana – J. Phys, Accepted for Publication.
    4. W.K. Bani and M.C. Mahato, Intermediate length scale of water jets under gravity: An experimental result, Langmuir, Under Review.

Student enrolment: In 1998 the number of students who enrolled in the honours course in the first year was about 2 in number. In all there are roughly around 95 students taking honours in physics in the different odd semesters in 2021. The following is the enrolment of the students in 1st semester in the year 2019, 2020.

Year No. of students enrolled in 1st Semester
2019 38
2020 40

Student’s achievement and progression: The students of the department have performed remarkably well in their academic life. Many of them are pursuing higher studies in the state as well as outside the state. Some notable recent achievements of the last two years i.e. 2019 -2020 are:

  1. Arneststar Syiemiong has completed his PhD in 2019 from NEHU.
  2. W. K. Bani another of our student has submitted his PhD thesis in 2020 from NEHU and is awaiting his result.
  3. Two students of the department Wellborn Kharsyntiew and Samborlang Ryntathiang participated in a science exhibition organised by NIT, Shillong and secured the 3rd position for their exhibit in 2019.

Results and student progression: The performances of students in the last two years (2019, 2020) are as follows:




Total No. Of Students Appeared In The Final University Exams  

No. Of Students Pass Out

No. Of Students  Securing  1st Division / Distinction  


% Of Pass

No. Of Students Enrolled In

P G Courses

2019 33 31 14 93.3 % 17
2020 29 26 22 89.65% 07

Activities  of the department : The department has been able to provide opportunity for students to widen their horizon by taking them on educational tours, involving them in student seminar, arranging lecture talks in the department, organising seminars, organising student exhibition, arranging for outreach programmes and other activities under the DBT- Star college scheme which was availed to the college since the year 2015-2016 and which is continued till the year 2020-2021.Some notable activities of 2019 -2020 are:

  1. Educational tour to Bangalore and Mysore in 2019 for 5th semester students from 13th January to 24th January, 2019.
  2. Teachers attended Faculty Programme on 21st January, 2020 and the resource person was Dr. N Amareshwaran from the department of Education NEHU.
  3. Outreach programme on Science, Water crisis and Community Development to Laitkroh village on 20th July, 2019
  4. Science fest in the college on 20th September, 2019. The students of the department secured all the three prizes (1st , 2nd and 3rd ) in the exhibition on the theme” Renewable Resources of Energy”
  5. Student seminar and interdepartmental seminar in September, 2019.
  6. Student excursion to Guwahati on 16th January, 2020.
  7. National Science Day celebration in the department on 28th February, 2020.
  8. Students participated in poster presentation in the college to celebrate the International Year of Periodic Table on 6th March, 2020.
  9. Students of the department participated in online poster presentation during the World Environmental Day celebration on 5th June 2020 organised by the college.
  10. Online student seminar was conducted during the month of August –September, 2020 for a few students.
  11. About 10 students from the department participated in a webinar on the occasion “150 years celebrating the Mahatma “on 2nd October, 2020.
  12. Tonystone Kharbhih of 3rd semester won the 3rd prize in the online caption contest organised by the environmental club of the college.
  13. Teachers of the department participated in the Faculty Development Programme on “Virtual Classroom, The New Reality: Challenges and Opportunities” by Prof. L. J. Singh, Dean School of Technology, NEHU on 20th November, 2020.
  14. Teachers and students participated in an online special programme celebrating “International Year of Plant Health 2020(IYPH- 2020)” on 14th December, 2020.
  15. Students of the department also took part in an online science exhibition on 15thDecember, 2020.